311 Online|   District Residents|   Businesses|   Visitors|   Online Services|   Agency Directory|  


Office of Zoning

Office of Zoning


Zoning Commission

DC Office of Zoning

Office Hours
Monday to Friday
8:30 am to 5:00 pm

Connect with us
441 4th Street NW Suite 200S Washington, DC 20001
Phone: (202) 727-6311
Fax: (202) 727-6072
Email: dcoz@dc.gov

Ask the Director
Agency Performance

About the Zoning Commission

The Zoning Commission (ZC) is an independent, quasi-judicial body. Created by the Zoning Act of 1920, as amended, the ZC is charged with preparing, adopting, and subsequently amending the Zoning Regulations and Zoning Map in a means not inconsistent with the Comprehensive Plan for the National Capital area. Three members of the ZC are residents of the District of Columbia appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council. The fourth member of the ZC is the Architect of the Capitol (or his/her representative). The fifth ZC member is the Director of the National Park Service (or his/her representative).

For more information on ZC-related items, please see the links below:

Public Hearings and Meetings are held primarily on Monday and Thursday evenings at 6:30 p.m. at 441 4th Street N.W., Washington, DC 20001 in Room 220 South. Visit "How to Reach Us" on the DCOZ website for detailed directions.

Please note that Public Hearing Notices for all cases before the ZC are published in the District of Columbia Register.

Current ZC Members:

Anthony J. Hood
(Term Expiration: February 3, 2018)

Anthony J. Hood has served on the District of Columbia Zoning Commission since 1998. He first served as Chairman of the Zoning Commission in 2000 and has currently served as Chairman since 2007. He is the Chief of the Printing and Mail Management Section, Facilities Operations Branch, of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency in Washington, DC. Mr. Hood is the Former President of the Woodridge Civic Association and the Woodridge Civic Fund. After 20 years of service he was voted emeritus. He serves on the Board of Directors of the Bryant Park Homeowners Association and is a Member of the 5th District's Citizens Advisory Council and the Bryant/Channing Streets Orange Hat Patrol. Mr. Hood is both a life-long member and Deacon of the Greater First Baptist Church of Washington, DC and resident of Ward 5. He has a Bachelor of Science in Printing Management from the University of the District of Columbia and was educated in the District's Public Education System.

Marcie Cohen
(Term Expiration: February 3, 2015)

Marcie Cohen has served on the Zoning Commission since 2011. She retired in July 2010 after serving in both the public and private sectors. She has special expertise in affordable housing and community development and was active in the fields of housing production, economic development and urban planning for over 40 years. Her knowledge of urban issues led to appointments as a member of the U.S. Delegation to the UN Conference on Human Settlements (1996) and the UN Conference on Sustainable Development (2010).

In 1998, Ms. Cohen was selected as one of ten recipients of the prestigious Loeb Fellowship at the Harvard Graduate School of Design. Ms. Cohen received an appointment as Visiting Senior Scholar at the Great Cities Institute at the University of Illinois at Chicago in the fall of 2000.

Ms. Cohen served for nearly nine years as Vice Chair of the District of Columbia Housing Authority. She is a board member of the National Low Income Housing Coalition, an advisory board member for 5 Stone Green Capital and a member of Lambda Alpha International.

Ms. Cohen hold a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science from the State University of New York in Buffalo and a Master's of Public Administration from the University of Southern California.

Robert Miller
District Resident
(Term Expiration: February 3, 2017)

Robert Miller has served on the Zoning Commission since October 2012. Mr. Miller previously served as the Deputy Director of the Mayor's Office of Policy and Legislative Affairs, and prior to that he spent over 25 years as the legislative counsel to the DC Council Chairman. During his tenure at the Council, Mr. Miller was the staff person primarily responsible for oversight of land use matters, including public hearings and Council adoption of five major legislative measures amending the Comprehensive Plan, with which the District's Charter requires zoning to be "not inconsistent." Mr. Miller has also served on the National Capital Planning Commission since 1985; first as the DC Council Chairman's alternate representative, and then in 2007 as the elected vice-chairperson and finally since January 2011 as a Mayoral appointee. A longstanding member of the DC Bar, Mr. Miller has a B.A. from Hamilton College and a J.D. from George Washington University. He is a third generation native Washingtonian.

Michael G. Turnbull, FAIA
Architect of the Capitol Designee

Michael G. Turnbull has served on the Zoning Commission since 2005 and is the Assistant Architect of the Capitol (AOC). The Office of the AOC is responsible to the United States Congress for the maintenance, operation, development, and preservation of buildings and more than 450 acres of land throughout the Capitol complex. He is the senior executive overseeing the Modernization of the Supreme Court of the United States and instituted the AOC's first best practices initiative aimed at improving project delivery of capital projects which included a major reorganization of the AOC's divisions involved in design and construction. Prior to joining the AOC, Mr. Turnbull served as the Director of the Department of Design and Construction at the Art Institute of Chicago, one of the nation's premier fine art museums and schools of art. Mr. Turnbull is a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, a licensed architect in DC, Virginia, Maryland, and Illinois, and a member of the American Planning Association and Lambda Alpha. He received his Bachelor of Architecture, a five-year professional degree, from the University of Illinois in Chicago.

Peter G. May
National Park Service Designee

Peter G. May has served on the Zoning Commission since 2007 as the National Park Service (NPS) Designee, and previously served as the Architect of the Capitol Designee from 2001 - 2004. He is the Associate Regional Director for Lands, Resources, and Planning with the National Capital Region of NPS. Prior to joining NPS, Mr. May was Deputy Director of Operations in the District of Columbia's Office of Property Management, Project Administrator with the Architect of the Capitol, and an architect with Weinstein Associates Architects and Quinn Evans | Architects. Mr. May is a Board Member of the Capitol Hill Community Foundation. He formerly served on the District of Columbia Public Schools Modernization Advisory Board and Committee of 21. Mr. May has a Master of Architecture from the University of Maryland and a Bachelor of Arts from Georgetown University.

         Agencies Accessibility About DCOZ Zoning Guide Feedback Privacy & Security Terms & Conditions